Cooking with Katherine · Food & Cooking · Living in Japan · Pictures · Weekly Bento

Weekly Bento : WEEK ONE

this week's bento

We are midweek here in Japan, but since I have time and still plenty of leftovers to last me tomorrow and Friday, I thought it would be nice to just go over the bento of this week right now:)

As I mentioned previously, I will not be eating school lunches for personal reasons, so I will be making lunches each week. Hopefully I will be able to keep myself organized enough to continue making healthy ones.

So, let’s go over what all is in this bento, shall we? In the top box we have a green bean & fried tofu dish made with no extra oil (used the oil already in the fried tofu to cook it all), Japanese sweet omelet, bree cheese, vegetable eggroll, and two strawberries. The bottom contains white rice with a pickled plum in the middle and stewed eggplant, paprika, and salmon.

This week, I shall share one recipe with you, and that will be….

yum yum yum!

Stewed Eggplant, Paprika, and Salmon
Ingredients
2 salmon fillets
2 eggplants
1 red paprika
1 yellow paprika
1/2 cup of dashi
1 tablespoon of soy sauce
cooking wine

Directions
cut up the salmon into bite sized pieces and brush them with cooking oil
toast the eggplant and paprikas in a toaster oven for 5 minutes or until soft.
In a saucepan, mix together all wet ingredients (I actually added a bit of corn starch to thicken it a little)
slice eggplant and paprika into bit sized pieces and add to the saucepan for a few minutes.
grill salmon in the oven for 3 minutes and then add to the saucepan for another 5 – 10.

Rating out of 5

6 thoughts on “Weekly Bento : WEEK ONE

  1. Katherine–

    You have become quite a gourmet cook! Don’t know if we can get red and yello paprika here and I’m not sure what dashi is. What is in the sweet omelette?

    I’m trying to eat healthy also without the lady making my food–doing it on my own.

    TTFN,

    Mom

    1. How we do this…when you come out here I can show you how to make it! Dashi is kind of like chicken broth. Kind of.

      Sweet omelet is just egg with the tiniest bit of soy sauce and sugar.

  2. That looks delicious! I just wish I had the patience to cook food. I’m more of a pre-packaged kind of guy.

  3. Do you mean sweet peppers, when you say paprika? I’m familiar with paprika as a spice from Hungary and I know it’s made from peppers….

    Anyway, it looks delicious. I love eggplants.

Leave a comment