Culture · Culture Shock · Jr. High School Education · Living in Japan · Pictures

Sky on Fire

Yesterday was a very frustrating day at the Jr. high school for me. Not only was it extremely humid on the way out (I had to take a 5 minute break inside an air conditioned convenience store) but I had a grand total of maybe 7 minutes to eat lunch. At this school, I have to eat with the students which is not something I really enjoy doing. Usually, I sit in silence while the kids eat or, like yesterday, the kids take forever to get ready. Yesterday, I sat in the teachers’ room until 15 minutes before lunch was over. Some students finally came to get me and I went to their classroom with my lunch. When I got there, they still had not finished lunch prep, so I sat for another 10 minutes while they finished passing out the food. I then had to pretty much shove food down my throat. This then caused my stomach to be very unhappy with me and I spent the rest of the day in pain. I literally woke up around 1:30 am feeling like two rocks were smashing my stomach. This has kind of happened a lot recently and I am really ticked off about it. I do not enjoy eating lunch with the kids and it not good for you to rush eating. I have been trying to explain that I do not really want to eat with the students, but this one teacher is kind of a jerk about it. I am going to set a limit for when students can come and get me. I think allowing me to have 15 minutes to eat is reasonable. This less than 10 stuff is ridiculous. It’s not my job to eat lunch with the students.

However, on the plus side of things, yesterday was one of the most beautiful sunsets I have seen in a long time.

2 thoughts on “Sky on Fire

Leave a Reply

