Culture · Elementary School Education · 英語ノート① · Lesson Plans · Teaching

英語ノート① Lesson 1 – 1 : 世界のこんにちは

Now that I am in my second year of teaching with Eigo Noto (and my third school year of teaching elementary school), I thought it was about time that I started actually sharing the teaching materials and lessons I have made. I revamped my lessons for this school year to include more of the goals that the Ministry of Education is going for in terms of Eigo Noto while also including keeping my goals and teaching style in tact. I do not claim that all the ideas are mine (I did a lot of research into games and activities), but I can promise that all the documents I link you too (unless indicated otherwise) I made. Some of the documents are based on other’s work, but I put everything together using clip art and other resources.

So, with that mild disclaimer, here is my first lesson of the year from Eigo Noto 1 (aka the 5th grade English “text”).

hello world!

Goals: in this lesson students learn (or in my case reminded) how to greet in English. Once getting used to greeting others in English, students learn different greetings from around the world.

Greet with students

My students start out with the class leaders saying “Hello/Good morning Katherine” and then the rest of the class repeats after them. I then greet them back and ask, “How are you?” Students respond and then ask me the same question. I respond and tell the students they may sit down.

ALT & JTE demonstrate the dialogue

ALT: Hello, my name is Katherine. What’s your name?
JTE: My name is Ken. Nice to meet you.
ALT: Nice to meet you too.
*handshake*

The teachers and I actually did the dialogue two different ways. The first time we did it using eye contact and big voices. The second time we both looked at the floor, almost sounded angry when we were speaking, and hardly did a handshake. We asked the kids to then compare the two dialogues to make sure they remembered 3 important points: eye contact, big voices, and a solid handshake.

Play 【Gokkiburi Game】

All students start out on the ground as cockroaches. They find a cockroach-friend and greet in English. Next, they do janken (in English!). The winner evolves into a rabbit while the loser stays a cockroach. Now the rabbit must find other rabbits to greet with. After greeting in English, the winner of janken evolves into a monkey while the loser stays a rabbit. This continues until students become an angel. When they are an angel, students return to their desks and sit down.

Evolution scale: cockroach – rabbit – monkey – human – angel

This game takes a good amount of demonstrating with the JTE and the kids can understand everything in English through gestures. Drawing the evolution scale on the board helps build the kids excitement and also helps them remember what comes next. You can also play where if students lose in janken, they have to go down on the evolutionary scale. My class mascot is a banana slug, so the kids always demand that the lowest level be a banana slug (or Nameri as they have named my magnet).

Let’s Listen pg. 4-5

got to love the stereotyped kids

Now knowing how to approach this section (last year the teachers and I just looked at each other blankly and were like “WTF, I can’t read some of these greetings let alone pronounce them properly”) things went much smoother. I asked the schools to prepare a big world map for me. You would be surprised at how little Japanese children know about the world. Some had problems finding Australia while Brazil was downright impossible for them. Before listening to the greetings, I put the map, pictures of the kids, and flags on the board. I pointed to a pairing and asked the kids if they knew what country it was. The kid who answered my question correctly was then asked to fine the country on the map and place the flag on top of it. Some of the kids freaked out because they had no idea, but I reminded them that it is OK for them to make mistakes and not know the answer right away. If a student got really stuck, I would give them hints about the general area and/or call up another student to help them. Surprisingly, this activity got the kids really excited and by the time I was half way through asking “What country is this?”, everyone was raising their hands.

After going over the countries, we listened to the CD and students guessed (with very little difficulty) what country’s greeting they had just heard. I then had students listen again, but this time they repeated after the CD to practice the greetings for the next game.

Play 【Classroom of Babel】

Students are given one of the 8 greetings from pgs. 4-5. They are forbidden to use any other words than the word on their piece of paper. Students then greet with each other until they find someone who greets then in the same language. When they find someone, they hold hands (something to show they are a group) and continue until they have found their entire group. They then sit down. Groups then say their greeting one at a time and the other groups try to guess which country’s greeting it is.

The formating gets really weird in Google documents, but you can find the document HERE. If you are an ALT and are interested in using this document but would like the none Google document version, just leave me a comment with your e-mail address and I will send it to you.

Review and say good-bye with students

Very similar to how the students greet, the leaders say, “Thank you very much, Katherine” and the students repeat. I say, “Your welcome everyone and thank you for a good class. That’s all for today, good-bye everyone!” and then the students say “Good-bye Katherine” which is then usually followed by a few “see you”s.

Well, there you have it. Lesson 1 of Eigo Noto complete. Tomorrow is my last day teaching Eigo Noto 2 lesson 1 – 1, so I should have a post about that coming soon. 6th graders are starting off with the alphabet and I am thinking about adding 10 minute phonics at the end of each lesson to give my kids a little bit of an upper edge when they get to Jr. high. I have a phonics book that I am going to bring with me to work tomorrow and see what I can put together.

2 thoughts on “英語ノート① Lesson 1 – 1 : 世界のこんにちは

    1. I try. The textbook is not much and the lessons provided are pretty sketch and don’t really do much in terms of actually having kids learn English and retain it. I am one of those ALTs that goes beyond what is actually expected of us. The A in ALT stands for assistant after all.

      I do eventually want to be a real teacher and not just an ALT. Jun and I keep talking about opening up our own English school and cafe someday.

Leave a Reply

