Cooking with Katherine · Culture · Food & Cooking · Living in Japan

Cooking with Katherine: Stuffed Red Pepper

Well, here I am sick again. The only two days that it rained this past week were the two days I had to bike the 6.6 km out to my new Jr. high school. Despite wearing a rain coat and carrying an umbrella while I bike out there, the almost freezing rain water constantly hitting my face and hands along with the 5-7 C temperatures for 80 minutes did me in. Add in the fact that the schools do not have heating anywhere except the teachers’ room, and I think you can understand how it is possible for me to be sick already. I think I need to talk to my boss about how I am expected to get out to this school when it is really raining. The past two days going there has been more of a drizzle than anything else. I have no idea what I am going to do when it it pouring…

Anyway, despite being down for the count, again, I managed to cook a decent dinner the other night. I kind of just threw things together without keeping track of how much of each ingredient I used, so I can only offer you an outline of a recipe.

stuffed red pepper with asparagus

Stuffed Red Pepper
Ingredients
1 red bell pepper
ground beef
garlic powder
parsley
balsamic vinegar
1 egg
bread crumbs
white sesame seeds
corn starch
salt and pepper


In a medium sized bowl, mix together the ground beef,garlic powder, parsley
balsamic vinegar, egg, bread crumbs. In terms of amounts, I put very little balsamic vinegar, maybe around 2 table spoons of garlic powder, and one teaspoon of parsley. Put enough bread crumbs in to make the mixture less watery (you should be able to form hamburger patties in your hands and have them keep shape). Also, use your hands to mix and need things.
Once you have your filling to a consistency you like, you are ready to move onto the bell peppers. Cut the bell pepper in half and put some corn starch in the bottom to make the hamburger mixture stick.
put the hamburger mixture into the bell pepper with a spoon.
sprinkle some white sesame seeds on top.
In a fry pay, put about 1 table spoon of oil and heat the pan.
First, brown the tops of the stuffed peppers.
Once the tops have been cooked, you are ready to flip the bell peppers right side up. Cover the fry pan and cook for about 10 minutes or until the meat is cooked all the way through. The bell pepper should be soft due to the steam from the fry pan.

Jun and I had made stuffed bell peppers before using green bell peppers, but this was the first time making them with red bell peppers. I personally enjoyed the flavor of the red pepper because of the slightly sweet flavor that went well with the slightly salty flavor of the meat. We used some of our favorite BBQ sauce on top, but you could use other sauces as well. I once again made asparagus using the same method I described in my previous recipe post. We devoured these bell peppers. Next time, I might try making stuffed peppers with yellow bell peppers.

Rating out of 5!

Mom, when you come out her in October remind me to make you these!

5 thoughts on “Cooking with Katherine: Stuffed Red Pepper

  1. Oh I’m sorry to hear you got sick TT I know the weather in Japan is so unseasonable cold right now, I hope you will feel better soon.

    How can they not have heating in the school?? That sounds really horrible, I mean I know how cold Japanese housing is in winter, so I can only imagine what it’s like sitting in a cold classroom for hours on end. My highschool had no cooling, but the summer time in school only lasted like 3 weeks tops.

    Anyhow, thanks for sharing the recipe!

    1. My cold is not that bad, but I am not sure how much longer my nose can take the beatings being given out by tissues.

      Heating in schools is kind of ridiculous, at least in this city. I probably should do a blog post about it. In a nut shell, the city decides the date (yes, the date) when a school is allowed to turn on the heater and the city also decides when a school much turn off the heater. This is the same for AC. According to one of my teachers, if all the classes use their heaters at the same time, that is too much electricity running and costs too much money. So, there is a heater rotation (I know, ridiculous).

      Thankfully, at the Jr. high, we use a special room that stays pretty warm and in one of my elementary schools I have my own classroom where I can turn on the heater/AC.

  2. I like red peppers better than green. When I make stuffed peppers for your dad (haven’t done that in a long time) I stuff the pepper for him and I just eat the stuffing that I put around the pepper.

    If I don’t soon make airline reservations no one will be going any where. Can’t stay awake long enough to do much. Fell asleep in front of Mountain Roasting yesterday from 10am to 1 pm. People were going into the coffee shop telling Rose that there is a lady sleeping in her car and she said she knows and is watching out for her–never did that before.

    1. Jun and I have decided that the yellow bell peppers taste the best – but red and yellow are close in terms of yummy-ness.

      You should get on those flights! My friend Michael introduced me to a company called Number 1 Travel here in Japan that gives you really good deals if you want to try asking them: http://www.no1-travel.com/

Leave a Reply

