Culture

Katherine’s Top 10

So, a few of the blogs that I follow have done a meme found over at universal-doll and I thought that I would give it a go myself. While the initial purpose of the meme is to showcase fashion, I kind of branched out from that into various aspects.

So, here we go

top 10

⑩ coffee – I crash at work without it.

⑨ Heisig’s kanji books – seriously, this man is a genius. His first book is all about just learning the meaning and how to write over 2000 kanji (I have currently mastered around 600 in the span of two months). His method is unique in that you make stories out of kanji to help remember the meaning and how to write them. Some of the stories are a little ridiculous, but nonetheless, this has been the most efficient kanji study ever.

⑧ American TV – I am currently in love with LOST and True Blood. I also cannot go without reality TV programs such as America’s Next Top Model and Survivor. Thank you internet for providing me with a way to watch these shows…and help me remember what real English sounds like.

⑦ Ikimonogakari – I LOVE this group. Every time I go to karaoke I sing at least 4 of their songs. My goal is to attend one of their concerts.

⑥ one-piece dresses – These definitely make up a large portion of my wardrobe – especially floral prints. My style is very close to what is known as 森ガール (mori girl or forest girl) in Japan. “‘Mori’ means forest in Japanese, and mori girls look like fairytale forest wanderers in their loose dresses, vintage prints and quaint accessories. Mori girls choose to live their lives on their own terms, stopping to appreciate the little things that others overlook amidst the hustle and bustle of daily life.”

⑤ my students – I don’t think I really need to explain more on this one.

④ boots – every day that I am not at work, I am wearing boots.

③ Disney – I have long been a Disney fan and probably my favorite movie is Beauty and the Beast…or is it the Little Mermaid…maybe its…oh, whatever it is, it is a Disney film. Disney has to be in my top 10, I’m getting married at Disney Sea for crying out loud!

② munchkins – yes, these naturally mutated cats with abnormally short legs are in my top 10. Why is that? They are currently on the top of my wish list. Plan on getting one in a year or two.

① Jun – Duh.

8 thoughts on “Katherine’s Top 10

  1. I like a lot of the things on your top 10!

    Maybe I’ll try Heisig’s kanjimethod. I need to get back into studying kanji, since I’ll be going back to Japan in August, and you’ve given him a good endorsement!

      1. Me too! I really tried to convince them in my application and interview. But no matter what I’m going to visit Kawagoe as soon as possible. ^^

  2. Oh I’m so glad you did this too! I loved reading about your top 10, and your graphic is extremely cute! I am kinda wanting (another) cat too, but there are too many different cute kinds to choose from haha.

    I wish I had a guy to put in my top ten, besides celebrities I mean hehe! You and Jun are a super cute couple^^

  3. Every one that I show the Japanese coffee are very facinated with the little bag hanging in the water. Americans can go with the little bag but the espresso in a can–not so much.

  4. I’m addicted to True Blood! It’s a really good show, I’m looking forward to the third season this summer.

Leave a Reply

