Culture · Culture Shock · Elementary School Education · Living in Japan · Pictures · Teaching

My Students Say the Darndest Things Valentine’s Day Edition

an adorable card done by a boy to his mom

Today, mostly because I had all that free time at Jr. high school yesterday, I decided to take a break from the elementary school “textbook” and do something culturally related. The book the kids have to use, 英語ノート, made a HUGE jump from the simple expression of “What’s this?” “It’s a pen.” to “When do you study Japanese?” “I study Japanese on Monday.”. You can imagine how this jump in language use has caused the students some stress. I noticed that my students, while still very energetic about games and activities, were starting to lose the spark in their eyes. When I told them at the beginning of class that we would be taking a break from eigo noto, they were overjoyed.

my Valentine's Day board

While explaining things about Valentine’s Day, my students had some of the greatest reactions and comments that are too good not to share here. So, here we go!
During my third grade class where I taught all 54 students at once, I asked the students what they do on Valentine’s Day in Japan. A boy spoke up and said “give chocolate!” I asked him if he was going to give chocolate and he laughed and said that he was going to receiving chocolate (in Japan, typically only girls give chocolate on Valentine’s Day). I then went on to explain that in America things are a little different. The same boy then became really excited and said, “You mean boys give boys chocolate?!”

I ate lunch with one of my first grade classes and spent a good ten minutes of lunch trying to convince a boy that the word シュークリーム (pronounced “shoe cream”) is not an English word. The word means “cream puff” and comes from French. The boy told me I was wrong because all katakana words come from English. Thank goodness some of the other kids caught on that the native English speaker would know what was English and was not.

These first grade students also asked me where I was from more times than I could count. After after a while, I decided to play with them and told them I was from the future…and they believed me.

I may have made love happen for this young man:

he told me he is going to give this to the girl he likes

Today was such a nice change from yesterday. Having five classes in a day is tiring, but it sure makes the time go fast!

I took a few more pictures from my classes today, so I shall post those here to finish up. I promise I will get back to my Valentine’s Day goods posts starting tomorrow! (although I might post a few more pictures of my students as I am going to a different elementary school tomorrow).

all 54 third graders making Valentine's Day cards

he was really concentrating
these two girls were the best colorers of the day
Valentine craft
one of my 5th grade classes making their Valentine Person

By the way. Mom, the kids LOVED the Tinkerbell card you sent.

6 thoughts on “My Students Say the Darndest Things Valentine’s Day Edition

  1. Oh this is just too sweet! The stories are very cute, especially the first one haha! Those crafts they are making look really great, I just love how little kids put all their effort into crafts and are actually excited to give them away. Do you get to choose the craft items?

    1. Craft came from a site that I found that listed a bunch of crafts. I picked one that I could easily prepare for. Since I had no classes at all on Monday, I spent the entire day prepping in the teachers’ room. Jr. high school now has no red or pink paper. bwahaha!

  2. Craft came from a site that I found that listed a bunch of crafts. I picked one that I could easily prepare for. Since I had no classes at all on Monday, I spent the entire day prepping in the teachers’ room. Jr. high school now has no red or pink paper. bwahaha!

  3. I must say I thought Tinkerbell was pretty cute. When I was in line buying it a few people saw it and wanted one but I got the last one.

    My back breaks for those poor kids having to do their coloring on the floor–they seemed to be enjoying the project–or to have a young back again.

    TTFN

    1. I also like the Tinkerbell card. Once I am done uses her for my classes, I’ll find a place for her in the apartment. Jun and I have been trying to do some rearranging of the decorations to make it look a little less like my dorm room.

      You would be surprised what these kids can do…they are so much more flexible than I ever was at their age.

Leave a Reply

