Culture · Disney · Japanese Pop Culture · Living in Japan · Pictures · Television

Disney Sea’s Harbor Side Christmas

the entrance to Disney Sea all decorated for Christmas
the entrance to Disney Sea all decorated for Christmas

Thursday Jun and I went to Disney Sea for some early Christmas cheer. Now, I have already posted about Tokyo Disney Sea before, but I really cannot stress just how beautiful the place is. Just walking around Disney Sea is fun and Christmas time is no exception. Now, before you all point out that it is still a little early for Christmas talk, in Japan the moment Halloween is over is when Christmas begins. Forget Thanksgiving because Japan doesn’t celebrate it. It’s just time to bust out with lots of fake trees, Christmas lights, and a ridiculous amount of decorations and Christmas music. Anyway, back to Disney Sea.

Jun and I became members of the Disney Club here in Japan, so we could get a 1000 yen discount on our tickets. This time, to avoid the mad rush at the ticket booths, we bought our tickets a head of time so we were able to enter the park the moment it opened. We decided to do something a little different this time and instead of heading over to the American Waterfront area, we decided to run over to the Lost River Delta area and road the Indiana Jones ride and Raging Spirits in the first 15 minutes of us being in the park. We decided to then head over to the Arabian Coast area to meet up with…

Minnie, you are so cute.
Minnie, you are so cute.

Minnie and Daisy! I think Minnie is dressed in Disney’s take on traditional Thai dancer clothing. Minnie waved to me and I seriously turned into a little girl with the giggles. Of course, Minnie is never without…

Jun, Mickey, and me
Jun, Mickey, and me

Mickey!! I am not even joking when I say that I sprinted to the picture taking line when I saw Mickey. While we were waiting to get our picture taken with Mickey, it started to rain so the staff decided to move the line inside. Mickey was really energetic and did this adorable march to lead everyone to the new location. Jun ended up clapping to Mickey’s beat which seemed to make the mouse happy. After we took our picture, Mickey gave me a hug and “told” me that he liked my Minnie Mouse ribbon. Yay v(。・ω・。)ィェィ♪

We then road on one of the more adorable rides created in the Disney universe: Sinbad’s Storybook Voyage. The best addition is that Sinbad has an adorable pet baby tiger that wears a turban. The Disney site describes the ride by saying, “Join Sindbad the sailor and his loyal tiger cub Chandu for heartwarming adventure! You’ll find the greatest treasure of all by following the “compass of your heart.”” Compass of your heart is a song that always gets stuck in my head after a trip to Disney Sea. I took video of the last segment of the ride, so you can check that out. The ride is one of the longer rides clocking in at 10 minutes.

After it was time to watch the show over at the Magic Lamp Theater which turned out to be one of the better performances – and I have seen the show more than a few times. We then decided to ride on the two-level Caravan Carosel also located in the Arabian Coast. I had the opportunity to ride on Genie from Aladdin, but I felt more drawn towards the more adorable camel than the blue Genie. We then headed over to Mermaid Lagoon – probably my favorite area of Disney Sea. We mostly just played around in Ariel’s Grotto and in the little kids Splash area before grabbing some pizza from Sebastian’s Kitchen for dinner and checking out the whale of a gift shop (aka, the gift shop is inside a whale).

our new cell phone charms
our new cell phone charms
Jun is styling one of the Christmas hats you can buy
Jun is styling one of the Christmas hats you can buy
I really wanted to buy these guys too
I really wanted to buy these guys too
we almost bought two of these
we almost bought two of these

Oh yes, there are some great things being sold and so many things that I wish I could buy. I have decided that one thing I will allow myself to buy each visit to Tokyo Disney Land or Sea is a postcard. The postcards are always decorated with the theme, so it is kind of a nice way to remember the day. I currently have my collection mounted on my fridge.

We then took the trolley over to the American Waterfront area with plans of watching the Big Band Beat show. Big Band Beat is probably my favorite show at Tokyo Disney Sea and is full of amazing jazz music and is all done in English – which means a non-Japanese main cast. Originally, no Disney characters were included in the show, but have since been included. So you can get a feel for what it is like, I found this great video that gives you little bits of each performance. My favorite part of the show starts around the 2 minute mark when Mickey plays the drums.

Due to it being Christmas time, Big Band Beat had some slight changes made to include a special Christmas medley in the show. Due to its popularity, tickets are needed to be able to see the show and these are given out in a lottery fashion. Jun and I were lucky enough to received tickets for the show and it was amazing. It brought tears to my eyes and the show even included fake snow being sprinkled all over the audience and Goofy running through the aisles dressed as Santa Clause along with all the dancers. It was amazing and I am so happy that we were able to see the show.

I got a little too excited for this picture
I got a little too excited for this picture

After Big Band Beat, we road on the Tower of Terror and then decided to check out the new “Turtle Talk” attractition. Located in the Undersea Observatory inside the S.S. Columbia, this is a theater-type attraction where you can have fun talking to Crush (from Finding Nemo) the sea turtle. Jun and I spent a good deal of time talk about how on earth this attraction was done because it was amazing. Crush is animated on a giant screen and literally talks with the people watching. He even mimics the little kids who talk and answers any questions that people ask him. Crush is even able to see the audience down to what people are wearing. It was amazing and I almost wish that Crush had randomly picked on me to ask him a question.

We decided to then wander around Port Discovery and the Mysterious Island areas for a little before the Legend of Mythica show started. If you are going to see any show at Tokyo Disney Sea, this is the one to see. I have seen the show every single time I have been to Tokyo Disney Sea and I never get tired of it. What made it amusing this time around was that, because of the rain, all the cast members and Disney characters were wearing special made raincoats.

Can you see Mickey wearing a rain coat?
Can you see Mickey wearing a rain coat?

It may be a little hard to see, but Mickey is totally wearing a made-for-Mickey raincoat.

Disney Sea’s beauty really came alive at night though. I have always found Disney Sea at night to be really pretty, but add in some lovely Christmas decorations and you have something really special. There was a giant Christmas tree set up right in front of the S.S. Columbia.

American Waterfront is all decorated for Christmas
American Waterfront is all decorated for Christmas

The usual BraviSEAmo show was replaced with the Christmas traditional show called Candlelight Reflections which sounds a lot more impressive than the actual show. It was not terrible, but it was really low key compared to the other shows. The show started in 2003 and after a 7 year run is ending this year. I hope this doesn’t mean that Disney Sea will stop doing Christmas themed stuff, because they have a good thing going for them.

The mood was very romantic and the song was definitely stuck in Jun and mine’s heads the rest of the evening. The show was kind of ruined by some extremely cheesy dialogue that made us crack up.
Aladdin: Jasmine, you look beautiful.
Jasmine: It must be because of the candlelight.
Aladdin: Maybe, but I think it is because I am so in love with you.

Minnie Mouse, Mickey Mouse, and Duffy
Minnie Mouse, Mickey Mouse, and Duffy

Or maybe this was Ariel and Eric talking…either way, too cheesy to be taken seriously. Then again, this is Disney we are talking about. Due to the rain, Jun and I were worried that we were not going to be able to see the show, but the rain eased up enough for the show to go on and even cleared completely so I could see the Christmas fireworks display. I am excited to see what Disney Sea has in store next year!

the Christmas tree is located in the center of Mediterranean Harbor
the Christmas tree is located in the center of Mediterranean Harbor

No plans for going to Disney Land or Disney Sea until February, but you never know (。・・。)

As always, you can find all the pictures I took of Disney Sea at my Dotphoto Page.

One thought on “Disney Sea’s Harbor Side Christmas

  1. Aladdin: Jasmine, you look beautiful.
    Jasmine: It must be because of the candlelight.
    Aladdin: Maybe, but I think it is because I am so in love with you.

    ROFL

Leave a Reply

