Culture · Culture Shock · Education · Information · Introduction · Jr. High School Education · Living in Japan · Pictures · Teaching

I was a little apprehensive Friday as I headed off to my first day of Jr. high school at my new school. This is to be expected after all the crap I had to go through at the last one, but I was trying to mentally prepare myself to not automatically pass judgments on my new students just because I had a group of brats last time. Still…my heart was pounding in my chest as I rode my bike passed some of my new students for the first time and even more so when I took my first steps into the building. A lot of my tension was relieved when I entered the office and found my desk had been decorated in preparation for my arrival.

my desk decorations welcoming me to the school
my desk decorations welcoming me to the school

During the morning meeting I was presented to all the teachers in the office and they all dropped their jaws when I started talking in Japanese – not gonna lie, that is getting really old too. My only concern with my new teachers is that they do not seem to know what is going on. I had been given a fax while at my elementary school explaining that I was only going to have one class during the day, but I had no idea what period my class was going to be. So, I started doing prep work for elementary school and suddenly one of my teachers come to me and says, “Time for class!” Thanks for the warning?

the office - I am the first desk on the left
the office - I am the first desk on the left

Walking to class was an interesting experience. Apparently these students have never seen a young female ALT either, because kids were literally bouncing off the walls when they saw me. When the first student saw me walking with their English teacher, he screamed that the new ALT was coming and kids came pouring out of their classrooms, stood in the hallway, and oogled as I walked by. Classes went OK, but I had forgotten just how quite Jr. high school kids can be. This group of kids seem to be a good group of kids – minus the one kid who came to school with brown hair and had to be spray painted back to black. At my previous Jr. high school, kids were excited to see me, but these kids were seriously freaking out when they saw me. The girls were all commenting on my hair color and how they wish they had it along with how “adorable and fashionable” I was. The boys, oh hormones, were really amusing. The first word out of every boy’s mouth was 美人 (beautiful) when they saw me. The teachers seem to have more control over their students, so I think the instant obsession from this group of students will be kept in check – unlike my previous school. I already had a few kids come into the office just to say “Hi!” to me. Next week it looks like I am going to be working one-on-one with a few students for the speech contest that is coming up soon. Hopefully that goes smoothly!

All in all, I think things are going to be fine at this school. In the office, I sit next to two female teachers who are very friendly and always talk to me. The other faculty, outside of the English teachers, seem to be very unsure about if and how they should talk to me, or even if they should. I need to have a school party for them all to open up to med(*・ω・*)b♪

3 thoughts on “

  1. Good luck! I hope your new job goes smoothly!😀

    A while back, after discovering your blog, I ran across your post about the horrible harassment you were forced to endure at a previous job… I have to say, it affected me deeply. I am *very* happy that things are going well for you now, and I hope they continue to do so! You seem like a kind and thoughtful person who is very dedicated to teaching — you deserve to love your job as much as you love teaching! From what you have been saying, this new school looks like it’s going to work out just fine.❤

    Anyway, I just thought I'd pop in and say GOOD LUCK! You can do it!🙂

    – Corin

    1. Thank you very much for your kind words! I have been wanting to be a teacher since I was a little girl and I would play teacher to my stuff animals and make chalk board out of green construction paper(♥ó㉨ò)ノ♡

      I am still doing the same job, but I won the battle of getting my schools switched which resulted in more elementary school time – I think I am better suited for that age group(*・ω・)ノ

      I’ll keep doing my best and thank you for reading! Feel free to comment anytime.

  2. Very nice comments from Corin!

    It does indeed sound like this Jr. High will be much better. Just the fact that they decorated your desk and we ready for your arrival shows that they respect their teachers.

    TTFN

Leave a Reply

