Culture · Culture Shock · Japanese Pop Culture · Living in Japan · Pictures

Spontaneous Trip

a Hachiko stature in Odaiba
a Hachiko stature in Odaiba

When I came home from work the other day Jun was in a very spontaneous mood and wanted to take me to Odaiba where there was a month long summer festival going on. The real draw was a life size Gundam, but for some reason we could not find this. Instead we wandered around the festival which was a festival where you could participate in the famous TV game shows shown on Fuji TV. I happen to be a big fan of a few of them, so it was really fun to get to try out some of the games that I had seen on TV. I shocked a few Japanese people in one of the games when they “learned” that I could read and understand the questions enough to be able to answer. Not gonna lie, that stereotype is getting really old and annoying. Anyway, I did not take that many pictures because I was too hot just walking around and the extra movement of reaching into my bag for my camera was not very appealing, but here are the pictures I did take along with some videos from a street performer.

Slime Knight! Yay for DQ!
Slime Knight! Yay for DQ!

a great treat in the heat - shaved vanilla ice cream with fresh berries
a great treat in the heat - shaved vanilla ice cream with fresh berries
the Fuji Tv building
the Fuji Tv building
Jun and I taking a picture with Hachi from the movie
Jun and I taking a picture with Hachi from the movie
Rainbow Bridge at night
Rainbow Bridge at night

The last video is apparently his talent and he became the number 1 person in Japan.

Leave a Reply

