Friends · Japanese Pop Culture · Living in Japan · Pictures

Lions and Tigers and Bears (Oh My!)

I’m back from a weekend trip down to Jun’s second home (which literally is a large-modern log cabin) around the Mt. Fuji area. The first day we spent most of the day at a place called Fuji Safari Park which is a zoo-like commercial tourist attraction where visitors can drive in their own vehicles and observe the wildlife, rather than viewing animals in cages or small enclosures. I took over 150 pictures from the day, so I thought it would be best if I just picked some of my favorites to post here, rather than try to explain what I saw. So, here some some pictures!

I see you!
I see you!

Our first stop of the day was a kitty house where you paid $5 to pet cats all you wanted. I was a little disappointed with the cats though – and not because there were no kittens. The poor cats looked frustrated and they had nothing to play with. I resorted to using my small hand towel and running it across the ground for them to play with. Within three minutes of pulling that out, I had about six cats following me. One cat, an adorable white kitty, even fell asleep on my lap after playing too much.

We rode around in this.
We rode around in this.

Next we got in the Rino Car (there were about six different animal themed cars including an elephant, lion, tiger, and bear) that you could ride into the safari area instead of driving your own car. The best part of this was that you were given food (raw meat for the lions, fruit for the bears, and some dry food for the zebras) that you could then give to the animals. We were literally inches away from a male lions teeth!

Not us, but this is just how close you are to the animals
Not us, but this is just how close you are to the animals
raw meat, yum yum
raw meat, yum yum
some dear from Europe
some dear from Europe

The safari was a lot of fun, but the best part of the day was yet to come. When we had first arrived at the park in the morning, Jun and I ran through pouring rain to a small ticket booth to buy tickets for a very special event that is only happening this month at Fuji Safari Park. You see, just recently, two baby lions were born. To introduce them to the world, the park was having an event were you paid $5 to take a picture holding one of the babies. The baby lion, who I insisted on calling Simba, was so cute with huge eyes and fluffy-soft fur. His little heart was beating so fast and I just wanted to cuddle him for hours instead of the 10 seconds I was given.

I got to hold a baby lion(*♥д♥*)
I got to hold a baby lion(*♥д♥*)

It was too cold and rainy for all the animals to be out, but there is also an area where you can walk around and pet kangaroos and feed them.

Fuji Safari Park Hello Kitty
Fuji Safari Park Hello Kitty

Despite the heavy rains and (surprising) cold temperatures, the day was really fun and I really enjoyed seeing all sorts of animals up close. Definitely a place i would recommend a visit to if you are in the area.

If anyone wants to see all the pictures I took, just leave a comment and I will make a picture only post of all my pictures from the day.

5 thoughts on “Lions and Tigers and Bears (Oh My!)

Leave a Reply

