Culture · Food & Cooking · Japanese Pop Culture · Living in Japan

Breakfast a la Katherine

omuraisu with a cabbage-burdock-carrot salad in a sesame dressing
omuraisu with a cabbage-burdock-carrot salad in a sesame dressing

The weekends are always “Katherine being domestic” days as Jun never seems able to wake-up before noon on his own. Who can blame him when his part-time job shift is from 5 pm to 2 am or 3 am? Anyway, I usually just make the same thing that we eat every morning before I go to work and he goes to school, but this morning I felt like making something a little extra゚.+:。∩(・ω・)∩゚.+:。ゎ~ぃ He had mentioned that he had been wanting to eat omuraisu (essentially an omelet made with fried rice) so I decided to give that a shot. I followed this recipe except instead of chicken I used some sausage that was on hand. Really though, you can put whatever you fancy in it. I sometimes see green peas and egg plant added to the mix. Just use your imaginationヽ(・ω・´)ノ

The picture above is my first ever attempt at making omuraisu and it turned out pretty well. Japanese tend to like their eggs a little more runny, so by Japanese standards my omuraisu would be considered “too hard.” My current fry pan is big so even using two eggs was not enough to produce a thick layer of egg. Still, all the flavors were there and we both gobbled down our omelets ♥

There is also a nice video you can watch for a fancier omuraisu that I would not mind making in the future.

3 thoughts on “Breakfast a la Katherine

  1. Can you email the recipes? salad with cabbage for me and eggs and fried rice for dad–we have left over fried rice now so I can try it.

Leave a Reply

