Japanese Pop Culture · Living in Japan · Television

Battle of the Ranger Openings – Battle 01

What I looked forward to seeing every week.
Let the battle begin.

I feel bad that most of the searches that point to my blog are Power Rangers related and I only have two posts about the topic. I therefore felt that I should reward those seeking more Power Rangers related posts and start a little comparison between the openings of the original Japanese and the American remakes. I will not be taking into account storyline because that would make me very biased towards one over the other.

So, let’s start at the beginning (a very good place to start♪) and take a look at the original Mighty Morphin Power Rangers and Kyouryuu Sentai Zyuranger

Youtube won’t let me embed the video, so you are going to have to click here to be able to watch. I was able to find one video file that showed both openings, so you only need to watch one video.

Kyouryuu Sentai Zyuranger
Good point(s): a very cheesy opening song (maybe too cheesy), but at least it says more than three words over and over again. I also like the bikes they are shown riding around in. I don’t remember those in the American version.
Bad point(s): the special effects…just wow. Also, the pink ranger clearly never had an training in archery because her technique (when not in the ranger costume) is pretty bad.

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers
Good point(s): I do think the song is catchier than the other and I think the clips used for the opening are better put together.
Bad point(s): I always had a problem with the line “Recruit a group of teenagers with attitude!”

Winner: Easy call for me, but Might Morphin Power Rangers wins this one.

SCORE:
Super Sentai: 0 Power Rangers: 1

Leave a Reply

