Culture · Drama · Friends · Information · Japanese Pop Culture · Living in Japan · Music

Mom in Japan – Odaiba & Wicked!

So, the first stop on mom’s tour of Japan was Odaiba.

We started off the day with a train ride and arrived in Odaiba with plenty of time to get some lunch. The big plan for the day was to see Wicked! at Shiki (Four Seasons) Theatre Company’s Umi, or Ocean, theater.


Here is the official Japanese trailer of the production.

One of the promotional posters for the Japanese production of Wicked
One of the promotional posters for the Japanese production of Wicked

This was my second time seeing the production – I went with my host sister when I was a JSP student – and was really excited to see it again. Apparently, the (about) three year run of the production in Tokyo is going to end in a few months and go to other areas of Japan. I think because of the massive blue Christmas light display in front of the theater at Christmas, the decorations for Wicked! were all taken down. I was a little disappointed because I really wanted my mom to be able to see them. Instead, I guess it just means I will have to post pictures of the decorations I saw when I saw it two years ago.

the decorations at night time
the decorations at night time

decorations during the day
decorations during the day

I ended up getting a program and I became rather nervous when I saw pictures of the cast and took notice that there were other women besides Megumi Hamada (Elphaba) and Miyuki Numao (Glinda). I looked through everything we had been given that day, but nothing listed what cast would be performing. Needless to say, I was rather nervous because I am rather attached to both Hamada-san and Numao-san. Then, the overture started, curtain rose, cast members performed the opening number of “Good News” (“No One Mourns the Wicked” in English), and finally Numao-san appeared in Glinda’s signature blue Cinderella dress and “embarrassing” (well, Elphaba calls it that) bubble spouting transportation device. Thankfully they do not mix and match actors and actresses unless it is a total last minute thing, so my mom was lucky to get to see the original cast. Yay!

I am not sure how many of my readers can understand Japanese, but here is a cute video I found on youtube that shows the theater and everything. It’s worth checking out even if you cannot understand a lick of Japanese.

I am such a picture nut, so I am going to post some pictures from the Tokyo production for all of you to enjoy♥

Miyuki Numao - Glinda
Miyuki Numao - Glinda

Megumi Hamada - Elphaba
Megumi Hamada - Elphaba

Glinda and Elphaba during Popular
Glinda and Elphaba during "Popular"

Theyre off to see the Wizard
They're off to see the Wizard

Elphaba anf Fiero share a moment
Elphaba anf Fiero share a moment

Elphaba and Glinda say good-bye
Elphaba and Glinda say "good-bye"

After Wicked it was time for some light sightseeing in Odaiba complete with a short stop to see Odaiba’s mini Statue of Liberty.

the entrance to Cat's Living
the entrance to Cat's Living

We also went to a place called Cat’s Living which is just several large rooms that are giant playgrounds for a dozen friendly cats. We were also given a small bag of cat food to give to whatever kitty we felt attached to. Mom ran out of treats quicker than I could count to ten I think.

Leave a Reply

