Because Mickey Mouse Makes Everything Better

Cinderella's castle

Cinderella's castle

So, I am sure you can all tell from the status updates that I have had one hellish week in dealing with my boss. You can probably figure out the details, but in summary my boss essentially blamed me for the previous sexual harassment because “I did not dress appropriately” and he said so in front of my new school’s principals and vice principals. I was furious and I actually snapped back at my new jr. high school (the principal liked me for that) and I just gave up when he took me to the elementary school because he lectured me on the drive over there. I am so glad that starting today I will not have to see that man’s face for a month. By then my desire to hurt him may have calmed down.

Jun has been great during my totally pissed off moments and has come to the conclusion that what I am experiencing is terrible culture shock in the hands of an idiot. Some of the things my boss told me I “had” to do (like wear a suit to school all the time and change into casual clothing when I get there) that I think are just ridiculous, are actually very much a part of the Japanese teaching culture and just things that we were never oriented on. He blames my boss for not better preparing us and the school in things to expect. In summary, my boss is nuts and not culturally sensitive at all – and it is driving me crazy. There are so many things I want to rant on, but I am not going to post here.

Anyway, Jun came to the rescue again and took me to Tokyo Disney Land yesterday. After 3 pm there is something called a “Twilight Ticket” that you can get that is a cheaper ticket. We usually spend a full day (close to 12 hours) at the park, but we were only able to spend 6 hours there yesterday – but it was totally worth it.

check out the rainbow!

check out the rainbow!

I don’t know what it is, but the moment we stepped foot into the park and were greeted by the marching band, I started to get tears in my eyes. As we walked on a little more we caught the middle section of a parade. The moment I saw Simba and heard him sing a little portion of “I Just Can’t Wait to be King,” I totally started to cry. Tokyo Disney Land and Tokyo Disney Sea may be one of the best stress relievers and “happy makers” ever.

It was pretty crowded, but we were still able to go on several rides and see all the shows. Unlike the show at Tokyo Disney Sea where we could not get wet to save our lives, Tokyo Disney Land’s “Cool Down” service via Mickey Mouse and Goofy in front of Cinderella’s castle gave us a decent amount of water.

Monsters Inc Ride and Go Seek

Monsters Inc Ride and Go Seek

The theme at Tokyo Disney Land was “Club Monsters Inc.” and it was kind of a weak theme if you ask me. The show at night was not all that exciting and the new ride (shown above) always has a ridiculous long wait. The ride itself it using a flashlight to “search” for monsters while you ride around. Jun and I had no desire to wait in a 120+ minute line when we could run around and do other things.

Dream Lights - one of my favorites♥

Dream Lights - one of my favorites♥

One of my favorite shows at Tokyo Disney Land is the “Dream Lights” electrical light parade. Jun and I had great seats in front of one of the restaurants. We left the parade a few minutes early to sprint over to Space Mountain because the wait was only 30 minutes as opposed to the 90+ minute wait it had been all day. After Space Mountain we sprinted across the park all the way over to Splash Mountain for our last ride of the day. As luck would have it, we were in the front seat!

Yay for Splash Mountain moments

Yay for Splash Mountain moments

I feel so much better after the escape to Disney Land. That’s two times in the same month we have been over there and that’s a first. Unfortunately (fortunately?) we have no plans for going there in September, but we do have plans for going to Disney Land in October for the Halloween theme. I’m already excited!

Citizen of the World needs Visas?

Citizen of the World needs Visas?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

