May in 給食

Yesterday was the last work day for May so that means the last day of school lunch for May as well. This month there was way too much fish on the menu. I think fish is OK for the most part (I have to be OK with it if I am living in Japan), but it is not something that I want to see on my plate everyday in the teachers’ room. School lunch fish also flat out frightens me sometimes because there is a 50 – 50 chance that I wont be able to eat it all either because of the flavor or texture. Due to Golden Week and my mom’s visit, there are some missing pictures for this month.

Thankfully most of the fish this time was delicious (I actually really liked the garden eel). I usually never question what is on my plate and this is the first time I actually researched into what I ate this month. I kind of wish I hadn’t, but now I know there are a lot of different types of food that I can eat and like. I bet that had I known before hand what was on my plate, for example the garden eel, I would not have touched it. I have learned that you just don’t ask before you eat something new. Although, I wish I had asked my boyfriend what was on my plate when we went to a Chinese restaurant. Would have saved me from eating the most disgusting thing I have ever had in Japan: boiled jellyfish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

